Is it possible to find cheap SR 22 car insurance rates? Read on to learn about all of the details of SR-22 car insurance policies in the state of Florida!
An SR-22, by definition, is proof of financial responsibility that is required by the state of Florida when a driver is charged with a qualifying crime. Examples include driving without insurance, driving with a suspended license, or receiving an excessive amount of traffic tickets in a short time. The SR 22 specifies the amount of car insurance that must be held by the driver. In the state of Florida, the SR-22 specifies that the driver needs to carry Bodily Injury Liability Limits of $10,000 per person and $20,000 per incident.
Once it is determined by the court that a driver will need to furnish an SR 22, the court itself or the Florida department of motor vehicles will notify the driver.
If you need to carry an SR-22, you probably received a court notice in the mail.
If you have not done so already, it’s important that you purchase, at the very last, the minimum insurance and SR-22 requirements of Florida. It is also necessary to fill out and submit written documentation in the form of the SR 22. North Broward Insurance Solutions can help you by directly providing you with the SR-22 upon purchase of your auto policy.
Why is the SR 22 Necessary?
The SR 22 is a paper trail that endeavors to protect the roads and other drivers from the dangers posed by uninsured and/or reckless drivers. In many cases, the SR 22 must be filed when a driver gets behind the wheel after a suspension. It must be maintained for a set amount of time, with 3 years being the guideline set by most states–this is true of the State of Florida.
Though there are a few exceptions, the SR 22 must follow a driver even if he moves to another state. The levels of liability coverage enforced by the state that originally required the SR 22 filing must be continued even if the driver moves to a state with lower liability requirements.
At What Point Does the SR-22 Expire?
A driver must be covered at the state’s minimum liability insurance levels for the pre-determined amount of time, or three (3) years before the SR 22 expires. Providing that all the conditions have been met, the insurance company will file the appropriate paperwork to officially outline the driver’s SR 22 commitment. The company will do so by submitting an SR 26 form to the state, thus completing the process that frees the driver from such strict government oversight.
If, however, insurance coverage lapses at any point during which the SR 22 is in effect, the driver will face the imminent suspension of his or her license, and typically be required to restart the SR-22 from the beginning.
What Will the SR 22 Cost Me?
In addition to the higher premiums that are assessed to the kind of risky drivers forced to file an SR 22, those in possession of this requirement will most often be subjected to a filing fee as well. $25 is the usual amount of this one time fee, but it is higher in some states. If another SR 22 must be filed due to a lapse in insurance coverage, the fee will be applied again.
Some companies even offer SR-22 filings for non-owners. That is, if you don’t own a vehicle anymore due to a loss or other reasoning, it’s possible to reinstate your license with a non-owner’s SR-22 policy.
How Can I File an SR-22?
The first step to filing an SR 22 is purchasing car insurance, if you have not done so already.
North Broward Insurance Solutions can help you with all of your auto insurance needs including the SR-22. We can help you search for the best rate available. There is no guarantee that the SR-22 will increase the cost of your insurance, even. It’s possible to find affordable rates while carrying an SR-22.
Call North Broward Insurance Solutions today at 786-440-8242 for more information on how to obtain SR22 car insurance or an SR 22 Non-owners policy today–anywhere in the state.
This information was contributed by Alexandra Horblitt